Sign in to follow this  
Carrie

Absolute Newbie in England

Hello all, I joined a few days ago and have been enjoying looking through some of the topics. I've never done any leatherwork, but I fancy having a go at making a couple of collars for my dogs. I want to make them from a nice soft leather, lined with suede and with brass fittings. Next the practicalities, any books it's best to pick up? Suppliers in England? How best to go about this?

Hello all, I joined a few days ago and have been enjoying looking through some of the topics. I've never done any leatherwork, but I fancy having a go at making a couple of collars for my dogs. I want to make them from a nice soft leather, lined with suede and with brass fittings. Next the practicalities, any books it's best to pick up? Suppliers in England? How best to go about this?

Welcome, ok suppliers first

Le Prevo

Tandy uk

Will do for know they are who i use, le prevo first as tandy can be a little expensive and you gotta have a credit card, I have some leather collar blanks if you want a couple for a starter, if you do you can pm me. I was given them by my mentor who has imposed on me the curious affliction of wanting to help others. You will need to buy the furniture/hardware. I would recommend looking up saddle stitch in the forum or on the net. The collar blanks are however nearly together, just need stitching. If you want sude backing you will have to sort that yourself as I have run out for the moment.

IMHO You will need a stitch groover, an awl, some waxed thread, a ruler (to space the stitching) or a stitching wheel, two saddlers needles, some contact adhesive.

Anything I've forgotton folks?

Hi Carrie,

Pip is giving you a big head start here. Bite his hand off! :lol:

LePrevo is a great supplier and they're really friendly and helpful. They have a wide range of good hardware.

Here's a link to their website: http://www.leprevo.co.uk/