Daniel G

Took A Chance And Bought A Used Consew 206Rb

Hello everyone.

Just a brief introduction. my name is Daniel, I'm an aspiring boxing glove and equipment designer.

I'm new to sewing and as the thread title says, I took a chance and bought a Consew 206RB, table and clutch motor included, on Craigslist for $180.00. The guy I bought it from had his house past down to him and he was selling everything that was included with the home that he did not need. He didn't know anything about the machine, so it was a case of the blind, selling to the blind. I did turn it on to make sure the motor and parts were running. I just hit the foot pedal a few times, because I wasn't sure when the last time the machine was oiled. Everything seemed to be running smooth(crossing fingers).

I would like to know if anyone knows a reputable person in the NYC area to service the machine?

What should I expect to pay for someone to service the machine(ballpark figure)?

Anyone in the New York area the would be willing to show me the ins and out of sewing with leather? I would pay for your time of course.

My machine didn't have a knee lift. Is that something I can add on, and is it a worthy investment?

Pics of the machine. They were taken with my phone, so it's not the best quality. The table and motor are in my basement, so I didn't snap pic of them.

f3f49c.jpg

359wsaq.jpg

2rqy1og.jpg

Edited by Daniel G

I can't help with hints on where to get it serviced, but these are good machines. Yours is certainly in excellent cosmetic condition by the looks of things. Did it come with a manual and parts list? If not, get a manual for it and try to find a parts list. It really does help to be familiar with what goes where. At the very least, you will need to understand how to oil the machine and how to clean it.