SouthernCross

Do You Holster Makers Hand-Stitch Most Of The Time?

Just wondering whether it's more common to hand-stitch or use a machine....

Depends on the style of holster for me, but most often I stich with my machine...

depends on your preference. i started out handstitching but then bought a machine because i had so much to do that i couldn't keep up. and with both, practice makes perfect. when i finally got my handstitching down nicely i went to a machine. my stitching looked terrible when i first started using the machine i thought about going back to hand sewing. kept practicing on scrap and pretty soon it looked way better than hand sewing. in the end i would recommend a machine,

Tony

Just wondering whether it's more common to hand-stitch or use a machine....

Well, I'm probably somewhat different than most here. I'm small time...I like it that way. I've been making holsters now for over 30 years, and I make primarily things that are not exactly what is commercially available locally. I do a lot of left-hand stuff. I have been known to turn away a customer just because I didn't like the way he talked. Many consider me a grumpy old man. I learned to saddle stitch from an old WWI 'horse soldier' when I was about 17, and all of my stuff is hand sewn. Frankly, I enjoy hand stitching. I can do it even while partaking of an 'adult' beverage or two. Mike

I am with Troop. I started out hand stitching. A lined ranger belt would take me a day to sew. I started not wanting to start a new project due to the amount of time the sewing would take. Then I got a machine and my stuff looked bad! After some practice I was able to get the look I wanted. I still have trouble with the machine every now and then with thin leather, but I am glad I have it. What ever route you take practice is the key. I hope this helps, JH.

I'm currently unemployed and can't possibly afford an appropriate machine at this time. All of my holsters are hand sewn.