Hi all,

I am a beginner leather worker, who just has the basics of leather working down. I do a lot of living history events, so I prefer to have all my equipment as historically accurate as possible. Right down to the glue we use. So far I have used Hide glue very successfully - not as the main means of support, but as an adjunct to the thread to join pieces together. Several nice features of hide glue is low odor, easy to store and use, and best of all, as it dries it actually draws the pieces tighter. I use it mainly to hold the pieces in place while I hand stitch the leather.

I have made a number of belts, very simply decorated, which have held up very nicely even in a pouring rain (the glue didn't run, surprisingly). I have heard about barge cement but never used it... I need a glue which works as quickly (5 minute clamp time) and as easily as the hide glue, but which is impervious to water. Now for the kicker... it needs to have next to no odor. I must be able to use it next to an open flame, as I am either in the basement, or in the kitchen doing my work.

Are there any products out there which will fit these requirements?

Thanks,

Mark

I use a water soluable contact cement. It is blue in color, and is only water soluable while it is still wet, once it has made contact with both pieces that have the glue on it and bonded together, it is no longer soluable. I have used this glue on all of my work from hats to belts and vests and everything in between.

It is just as strong as Barges, but there is no smell or odor, and it is non flammable as well. I purchase it at the local hardware store.

Ken

You need some "TwinOaks Magic Glue" it does everyting you asked and is really cheap at $20 for a 4 oz bottle. Send cash, and don't worry about it seeming to be the same stuff that Beave'r is talking about.....ummm I licensed them to use my magic glue....and they changed the label....yeah..but it's the same stuff.