As a newbie i am still learning a lot about using leather, I went looking for some orange leather and my local supplier could not offer any help but suggested a veg tan piece and some orange leather dye. I have dyed some veg tan black with some success but at the same time tried a tan coloured dye with little success.

They suggested applying the dye to damp leather with a sponge, using long sweeping strokes, which gave me a great stripey effect!!!! With a little experimentation i have added a few more coats using a soft lint free cloth, slightly dampened to the damp leather. Using a soft circular motion i seem to have obliterated some of the stripes but needless to say the colour is now much darker than i had hoped.

Any tips or tricks would be greatly appreciated.

I am using fieblings Leather dye which has limited colour range so any suggestions on other brands would be great along with any tips for blending colours on the leather, i had, in my innocence, thought that it would blend when being applied, however even with the leather soaked thru it just seems to soak in.

Thanks guys and apologies if this has been answered somewhere else and i have missed it.

I don't know about other peeps, but I have used the basic colors and mixed them to my liking, I then make sure the leather is clean and then air brush the dyes on. I also use Fiebings and they seem to work (and mix) just fine. I also airbrush my Super sheen on the leather for a more even coverage. Haven't had a problem so far.

For even dyes, use an air brush.

Bob Stelmack

Al Stohlman put together a pretty good book that goes into quite a bit of detail on how to blend dyes for leather working, and how to apply dyes and paints for the best effects on leather. Tandy carries it, it's not expensive and it's got lots of good solid information.

Coloring Leather is the title.