asquaregarden

What Sewing Machines And In What Order Would You Buy?

This was intended for Wiz but I decided to post it here in case anybody else has any suggestions.

Let me start by saying that I am new to leatherworking and have never used a sewing machine before. With that being said I’ve been looking into getting my first machine and I could probably raise the money for a cb4500 but I don’t know if I can justify it(YET). I am looking for something that is as versatile as possible and I see you have a National that you are happy with. What I was looking for and I could not find in the forum is something along the lines of (like they say in my country .. the mind after the fact) with the knowledge that you have now if you started from nothing and you were doing a large variety of projects from leather purses and wallets to gun holsters what tools/sewing machines would you buy , in what order and what prices would you be willing to pay? Also I see you recommend going to a local shop for a machine. I live in Ann Arbor and I’ve been looking for such a thing around here but it’s been a fruitless hunt to this point. Is my best bet going to Toledo?

I would appreciate any input you might have regarding this.

Thank you

Alin

If this is your first machine, definitely buy it from a reputable dealer. They may not be cheaper than Craigslist but you will get a machine that is set up correctly. A local shop is not necessary since the dealers like Bob at Toledo or Steve at Cobra will ship you machines and offer great service. Only thing you can't do is bring the machine back to them if you have a problem. I had a problem with a machine I bought from Steve and he paid for a local machine tech to come take a look at it so service was great. Bob might be better for you simply because he's closer to you and shipping costs might be cheaper. I have bought several machines from Steve because of the service and because he's close to me and shipping is less because of that.