gbsbullet

Advice For Dyeing Rawhide

I have been a visitor of this site for many years and can usually find the answer to my question without having to post (seems like everything I come across someone else has already figured out) but this one doesn't seem to have been answered before.

My father bought a set of rawhide romal reins out of Mexico. The rawhide appears to have been bleached and he can't stand the color so he asked if I could figure something out. I have never worked with rawhide before so I'm unsure of the best way to go about this.

I know a lot of people use coffee to dye their strands but this is done before the braiding begins. We both agreed that a similar color would be good if we could get it to take without destroying the reins. My concern is that if I soaked them in coffee the braid on either the body or the buttons would loosen or curl and the reins would be ruined? I also thought spraying or wiping them down might be safer and producer a good result? Lastly, I thought maybe I would dye some rawhide cream then work the conditioner into the reins (since the conditioner is supposed to be safe for finished products)?

Has anyone ever tried something like this before that could lend some advice? If not maybe some insight as to what could be expected if I follow any of the outlined ideas above? Any advice would be very much appreciated. I have attached a few pictures of the reins so you can see what I'm working with.

Thanks in advance.

post-8570-0-58891500-1416259533_thumb.jp

post-8570-0-03405000-1416259663_thumb.jp

post-8570-0-25664100-1416259669_thumb.jp

I think your instincts are probably right on not soaking them. Most of these reins are thin strings over a rope core. A rubbed or sprayed dye should work fine. I would think your idea of adding dye to a conditioner would work, but if it didn't it might make it difficult to get anything else to absorb afterwards. Good luck, Buck