VansCustomLeather

New To This Website....can't Believe I Just Found Out About This Site.

I'm READY to LEARN!! My name's Van Woodruff and I started Vans Custom Leather. I recently medically retired from the Army after 13 years service. Got to see A LOT of the world but glad to be back in God's Country...Sweet Home Alabama. You'd be amazed at the amount of people in the military that have "some sort or craft/art skills." As for me...I started playing around with leather a few years back. I was "drawn" to doing leather plaques from the very beginning. I only did trades for the first couple years. Once I really started finding my "niche" with the "leather biographies"...business "Within my Army Unit" took off but it's hard to get your "Leather Products" in front of "the masses." As I was going through the retirement process at Fort Bragg...I had an opportunity to meet an AP reporter. I did my best "Billy Mays pitch" to him right after the "original interview" was done. He told me that once I move back to Alabama...he'd come do a story and he was a man of his word. Here's the link...I don't know how to add the link so I'm just typing it in: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Ab-Yc1rjIM ...if that doesn't work Google "Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment" it should be 1:50 long. As you can see...my leatherwork is "aesthetic in nature." I LOVE doing the plaque designing and tooling but I want to LEARN "Functional Leather Skills." I want to know how to make quality Holsters/Belts/Wallets/Purses/Bags...that people will be able to pass down. I've been fortunate to have "Quality Leather Advice" along the way. The 3 main ones being Aubrin Rheem at Tandy Leather Raleigh. Michael at AnvilMade Leather and Christian Marsh at Xian Leather. If you haven't seen Michael or Christian's work...you SHOULD check them out. In MY opinion Christian's the Best in the World at what he does. I'm going to try and attach some pics...I have NO IDEA what I'm doing or how to "crop them properl