Aykut

Need some advice on leather jackets,pants making

Hi...I've been reading the forums for a while and need some advice on how to make my own leather jackets,vests,pants, etc..

Here's the story:

I collect and sell vintage clothing(mostly vintage leather jackets,pants,boots,belts) I'm also a musician and love the 60s - 70s era rock music which is very related to what i wanna do...it's been a while i've been thinking about making my own 70s inspired jackets and pants...One of my biggest influence is East West Musical instruments company from San Francisco...they are known for making the best rocker jackets from the 70s with great fit and amazing hand painted ,detailed applique art.About 2 months ago i bought a cheap old Kenmore and started experimenting with my ideas, recently i'm getting ok results( I had no sewing machine experience before)..I'm using thick denim fabric right now..After days of experimantation i made my first jacket and it turned out pretty cool i think with my limited knowledge.

My 4 questions are:

1.What would be the best beginner leather sewing machine for me?..From what i've read I need a walking foot machine, right?my budget is about $450-500...I was thinking about getting the Yamata or Feiyue FS288 from Unbeatableprice(about $300) and get the monster wheel from Sailrite( i read about this machine in the forums here)..I need to go as slow as i can for some small applique work on some jackets..

2.What kind of leather to use?...I do not want to use very light leather..i want the jackets to be somehow heavy but also comfortable... kinda like the old leather motorcycle or flight jackets with the grain surface...What thickness and temper of leather would be good?Buffalo or cowhide?

3.What type of thread and needles?again think of the well made vintage motorcycle jackets.

4.If you know any links or forums that would be good for me to check out about leather clothing.

Thank you so much for your time and help.

Aykut