I am fairly new to all this. I have 2 swivel knifes among with 2 blades and a stripping/ sharpening jig. Both of the blades I have sharpened on a rough grit and finishing stone. I have also strophe the blades a lot. Neither of the blades are cutting leather at best they are scratching the first layer or two. I see videos on You tube where Bruce Cheaney is using a swivel knife and the cuts seem effortless and the cuts seem to be a lot wider. What am I doing wrong? Are new blades not sharpened? Am I doing something wrong? Last night I spent over 2 hours sharpening, and stropping the blades and no change in my cutting ability. I am totally flustered and confused. This should not be this difficult.

Is the edge truly sharp, faces polished so there are practically no scratches?

Is the leather properly cased? Too wet is no good, and of course dry isn't any good either.

Close up in-focus pictures of the blades both profile and flat, as well as of your cuts would help someone here to give you good direction.

Tom

My first question is what you are using for a stone. Stropping is only done to keep it sharp, sharpening makes it sharp. You sould be able to sharpen a blade in just a few minutes, never more than a handfull.

What grit stones and what kind of stones? What are you using on the stone and is the stone flat on the top?

Aaron

The stone I have been using is a double sided stone we got at Home Depot. One side is rough grit and the other side is smoother both are blue if that helps. Our local Home Depot that's the only sharpening stone they carry. It is for knives, chisels and other tools in the profile face of each side of the blades there are a couple marks but most of it is shiny and reflective.

A dumb question, But are you casing the leather? Also, what angle are you using on your blades?

Blake