Just finished up a couple more gun belts. I'm trying to build up some stock in order to have some items for display at some upcoming gun shows. I think these will be for display only as I don't see myself trying to make a hundred or so belts for immediate sale. But would like to display these so potential customers can see and feel the product.

post-27786-0-48316400-1372008206_thumb.j

post-27786-0-71492900-1372008218_thumb.j

post-27786-0-47476500-1372008233_thumb.j

Looks good! Care to share any details? I'm just getting into belts and trying to learn what makes a good one.

Looks good! Care to share any details? I'm just getting into belts and trying to learn what makes a good one.

Thanks Harley! I'd be happy to share. I start with 6/7 Hermann Oak single belt belt from Springfield Leather Co. I cut my 1.5 in strip and cut to length, mark my stitch line, punch my billet and chape holes, and dye to selected color. I then cut my 2.0 in liner and glue them together and sew. After the sewing is done I trim my liner to 1.5 in, sand even and bevel the edges. I then dye the edges and burnish using Bob Park's method (can be found on this forum). Once all the burnishing is done I apply Montana Pitch Blend oil, dry over night and the apply MPB leather dressing.

There's more details with the process, but that's it in a nutshell. Please feel free to ask about anything not covered.

The end that wraps over the buckle is it full double weight or do you skive it?

That's the part I can't visualize. Also do they make billet punches or do you freehand it?

The end that wraps over the buckle is it full double weight or do you skive it?

That's the part I can't visualize. Also do they make billet punches or do you freehand it?