Sign in to follow this  
Egraham

Chisel.. Punch Question?

I'd like to say Hi.... My first time in here, and I'm just thrilled to find a resource like this!! I'm new to leather.. but I have 100's of tools that were handed down to me, & I just bought a new Cobra sewing machine. I like making tack and horse items. I have had no training, and no instruction.. other than watching videos on the You Tube, lol. So Im a GREEN HORN... to say the least. But I am an artist.. so this is a challenging new canvas for me that I am really loving! But I do have LOTS of questions... & some might seem really dumb,, like what is this tool called, or something else really basic that everyone (but me) probably knows :)

So here is my 1st "dumb" question... When working with a punch or chisel.. (like when using to pre punch for metal dots).. what type of surface do you use? I have already made some rookie mistakes.... like chipping my slab,, and even dumber.. using it on my anvil.. which flattend the tip of my chisel in an instant, lol.... I have tried putting layers of leather under the punch.. but I know there has to be an easier way that doesnt destroy my equipment.

I use the nylon / plastic cutting boards to cut and punch on.

I use the nylon / plastic cutting boards to cut and punch on.

Great idea... I will try that,, I will steal one from the kitchen.. Thanks

Tandy sells rubber sheets ( "pondo boards") and you can get them at industrial supply stores like Grainger and McMaster-Carr. Here is a link to McMaster-Carr medium strength with a 70 or 80 durometer 1/4" thick is what I bought. I covered my whole workbench top with it. That is what I punch into and I got a cutting mat from JoAnn's for cutting out small pieces on. It sure saves my blades.

Edited by TTcustom

I have seen thoes in the leahter store... I will pick one up. I could probably just glue it to my slab that way its always there.