Sign in to follow this  
Sixer

Saddle Stitch By Hand Vs. Speedy Sewing Awl

I'm a novice at this so bare with me smile.gif

I have just recently started making (attempting to make) my own holsters. I am still trying to get a feel for the stitching part. So far I have only tried using a Saddle Stitch. I was thinking about picking up a Speedy Stitcher Sewing Awl, but wanted to get a few expert opinions first.

What do you guys / gals prefer when it comes to your stitching? Which method would you reccomend to a new guy for holsters?

Thanks for your input!

LISTEN..........IF YOU WANT TO LEARN TO SADDLE STICH......BUY THE BOOK "HAND SEWING"

by AL STOLHMAN, AND FORGET THAT speedy sticher sewing awl.

now that said. Learn to saddle stich with an awl and 2 needles. then buy what you started to buy and sew with it, then let us know which you like better.

I have just recently started making (attempting to make) my own holsters. I am still trying to get a feel for the stitching part. So far I have only tried using a Saddle Stitch. I was thinking about picking up a Speedy Stitcher Sewing Awl, but wanted to get a few expert opinions first.

What do you guys / gals prefer when it comes to your stitching? Which method would you reccomend to a new guy for holsters?

Thanks for your input!

Hi Sixer

forget the Speedy stitcher, they don't even make good Darts. Learn how to use an Awl and 2 needles is the best advice, to make the best work.

Kindest Regards.

Jim Saddler.

Luke & Jim are absolutely correct. The speedy stitcher is ONLY good for a temporary, on the spot repair. The stitches aren't locked, so if you pull one of the threads, it'll all (awl -lol :rofl: ) unravel. Learn to use 2 needles. If you only have 1 needle, do a running stitch, then go back when you've hit the end- that is STILL a lot better than the speedy stitcher (or any of the clones- myers, etc).

russ

Hi there,