Good evening,

I would be very gratdeful if anyone can help please. I'm new to leathercraft and have found a very frustrating problem. I have spent the last two days carving over 20 items! And now I'm ready to dye them, I love the colour that EcoFlo Timber Brown has and use it with nearly all my work.

However, today it is turning an oily dark green colour on this work - I'm seriously worried because I've cut all these peices from the same shoulder, so if it's the leather (veg tan) that has an ingredient that's causing it, I'm in trouble.

Please help!

Thank you

Niki :-)

Hi Niki and welcome to the site.

I'm no expert on solving dye problems, and it sounds like you've been doing leather work for a while, but I might guess that there is a residue of some sort on the leather that could be removed by cleaning with oxcylic acid (wood bleach) or denatured alchohol. The other possibility is that you are using a bad batch of dye. A possibility if it is a newly opened bottle and you've not used it on anything else. Try it on a scrap of leather and see if it does the same thing. Remember to shake it well before applying and see if it works properly. Then try cleaning a scrap of the leather you are currently working on, then dye with that same bottle. Perhaps also try another bottle as well just to see the difference.

I hope you get a better answer that will be more helpful. Best of luck.

David

Hi David,

Thank you so much for your reply.

I'm novice actually - I only took it up at Christmas, but addicted already!

I noticed that the bottle had separated quite badly and there are bright orange filaments clinging to the top,(as if a neon orange cotton wall ball had set loose in there!). I'm sending it back tomorrow - so frustrating though as I booked this week off work to make these items (for a craft fair I'm exhibiting at).