SimonJester753

Total Newbis Has A Few Questions

I'm fairly new to leather working. I've made about 6 dog collars and one harness. I thought I could forget about stitching and just use rivets, but now I'm feeling that some projects would come out better if I sew them.

As far as I know, there is machine stitching and hand stitching. There's also the sewing awl. Is the awl considered machine or hand? From what I've observed, the stitching with the awl goes similar to how it goes with a machine, while hand stitching runs differently.

Is one type of stitching more durable than another, (hand vs machine vs awl)?

The tools I have so far for sewing are a sewing awl, an edge groover and thonging chisels.

I'm assuming if I wanted to start, I'd use the edge groover, then use the thonging chisels to set up the hole placement, then poke through both pieces with a scratch awl and then sew through with the sewing awl or hand sew with 2 needles.

I'll probably order a book from Tandy tonight.

Have I made any wrong assumptions?

It sounds like you are on the right track. When you go beyond small projects you will need an overstitch wheel. I like the one with 3 different size wheels. The book will explain most everything. I started out by sewing scraps together for practice. Have fun!