Relly

Relly's Tool List

This post is for my fellow new posters who may not be as tool-fancy as I am.

I am a newbie, too, so your mileage may vary ... :D

One thing that you might notice is that many of the more useful tools that I mention are less than $20.

Leather is a very affordable hobby and many of the tools are readily available.

My background in a few words:

I got my start in leathercraft when I bought a Deluxe Leathercraft Kit from Tandy.

Recently I have been making leather bracelets similar to the ones that you might buy at the Tandy Leather store.

I have no room for anything that I am not using to its fullest - my living space is very small (but cozy!)..

Okay, now here are some things that I found really helpful

A granite block

It's heavy. It's obnoxious. I have one. Mandatory tool.

I use mine for setting snaps, punching holes or for tooling work.

Sometimes, I glue a workpiece right on the top!

Thick self-healing cutting board

I do all my cutting and hole making on one of these boards.

Mine's a half inch thick (more or less) and about a foot on both sides.

In my opinion, anything smaller than this is pointless.

Hole punch kits

I use the Tandy Mini punch set often, and now I have the Maxi punch set, too.

The reason that I use these stick punches is that I can really give one a good tap!

I have my cutting board underneath the workpiece, and the granite is under the board.

The benefit of the granite is that it provides a rock-solid base for hammering.

The cutting board provides some shock control, and also protects the granite surface.

Leathercrafting requires a lot of hole punching. At least for me, it does.

Soft-face hammers

I use two of these, a 6-ounce and a 12-ounce. The small one is good for tooling.

The big one is good for whacking things! I use the big one all the time.

My hammers are by Vaughan - red rubber on one side, yellow plastic on the other.

The tips are replaceable and non-marring.