Sign in to follow this  
NewLeather

Ed Chapman Saddles?

I picked up a gorgeous wade saddle today. It's obviously made by an experienced saddle maker who put in a lot of effort. It's stamped on both fenders with "Original Ed Champan Fort Worth, Tex" It's an older saddle, but beautifully made.

Anyone ever heard of Ed Chapman? A google search pulled up nothing.

I have still found very little info. All I've managed to learn is that Ed Chapman was 89 years old back in 1975 and was known as a saddlemaker.

What would you consider this style to be? I have heard both "pre-wade" and "working ranch" but am unsure.

Here is a pic of the saddle in question:

297159_2374741251381_1336058897_32768010_1656581056_n.jpg

Edited by NewLeather

i am by no means an expert but that looks like an equitation saddle to me...

It looks like it could possibly be made on a "BOB CROSBY" tree. Probably made between the late 50's to mid 70's. It has Porter Style tooling which was prevalent during that time period also. It appears to be made very well in a style from that period. I'm only making a guess of course, and some one else can probably nail it down closer. Reason I'm saying this is because the man who I apprenticed under in the mid 60's, made saddles that looked a lot like this one!

It looks like it could possibly be made on a "BOB CROSBY" tree. Probably made between the late 50's to mid 70's. It has Porter Style tooling which was prevalent during that time period also. It appears to be made very well in a style from that period. I'm only making a guess of course, and some one else can probably nail it down closer. Reason I'm saying this is because the man who I apprenticed under in the mid 60's, made saddles that looked a lot like this one!