Sign in to follow this  
Toddo

Need Some Advice / Beginner Here

I have this wallet I'm making for my sons birthday. I'm pretty much done with the tooling and painting. I need some advice on the finishing. Here's the wallet:

Redskinswallet1.jpg

Should I die the background? Obviously it would have to be a light tint of whatever color so that the dark red lettering would not get lost. The paint is just ordinary cheap acrylic paint I got at the art store. I put it on in layers. First layers watered down a lot and built from there. Then I flexed the leather while it was drying so that it would not crack after drying. It seems to have worked. I can bend it all around with no cracks. If I were to dye the background, then I would need some kind of mask product to block the dye from getting on the painted areas. What should I use if I decide to dye it? And... when dying, do you use a wide sponge brush so that it comes out even? Or just use a cloth. And do you dye it like wood? Meaning, do you make a pass with the dye, then go back and make a pass with a dry cloth to sort of even it out?

Then after dying, what product should I use to seal it? I have this Eco Flo stuff that came with my sons beginner kit that's called super shene. Is that stuff compatible with the acrylic paint? I mean, what's the best thing to use so that it will be completely protected and the paint will never rub off through a lot of use?