Clay B

Food Vacuum Bag Wet Molding

Morning all,

I'm wondering if anyone has tried using food vacuum sealer storage freezer bags like you see at Costco/Sams Club for wet molding holsters? Results?

Thanks.

Morning all,

I'm wondering if anyone has tried using food vacuum sealer storage freezer bags like you see at Costco/Sams Club for wet molding holsters? Results?

Thanks.

I'm no professional, and some may laugh, but I have used the ziploc vacuum bags with the little hand held pump with pretty good success on lighter leather. I don't think it would have done the job on the last one I made with two layers of 8oz. veg tanned. But it worked well on a couple of holsters I made out of oil tanned leather.

Clay: there was another fairly comprehensive post a few months back concerning use of a foodsaver. They do work, although probably not as well as a commercial vacuum press, but if you have one, they're fine. I've used mine with a fair amount of success. Do a search. The biggest problem with the bags is that the one side is bumpy- easily solved by inserting another piece of bag material with the smooth side against the leather...

russ

Edited by whinewine

I do almost all the time

LCP1-1.jpg

035.jpg

stingrayrig.jpg

Yep, I vacuum mold often. There's not a problem with two layers of 8oz veg tan. Like whinewhine said, place something in the bag to keep the ribbing off the leather ( or not if you don't mind some "texture"). I've gotten the best results using slightly wetter than 'properly cased', but just barely......like spray it with a few spritzes of water on cased leather then in the bag it goes. I've also found that it's really easy to bone the leather while it's in the bag, as the bag prevents the creases from getting colored by friction. A third hand really helps so that one hand can hold the vacuum sealer shut and the other two can dispose of wrinkles before the full vacuum is reached.