circle

Need A Little Help Choosing A Machine.

Firstly I should say I'm in Sydney Australia and I have spent the last month and a half doing some research and trying to hunt down a machine, but I still need some help finding the right machine for me. I'm new to sewing for the most part but I know my way around a domestic machine and have done a fair bit of research. Pretty much I want to start off making these kind of Canvas/Leather Totes.

I have a fairly tight budget right now so I've been looking at used machines on eBay and Gumtree. From what I gather, mostly from reading this site but also having spoken to a couple of people in local sewing shops, I'll need a walking foot machine. I have had a really hard time finding anything with a walking foot for less than $1200 around Sydney, SO my question is; for a beginner like me would I be able to run those materials and create those products on a basic industrial machine or do I absolutely need a walking foot machine? I understand some machines will run leather and canvas without a walking foot but that may come with feeding issues etc. But I also don't want to buy a machine that will be too powerful for my needs.

Can anyone recommend a machine to look out for that could do what I need? If anyone knows of anywhere around Sydney to buy second hand machines I'd love to know. Like I said I've spent about a month and a half watching well priced used machines come and go, waiting for a walking foot to pop up but I'm running out of patience and really want to get started with something.

Thanks for reading.

Edited by circle