johnggrg

Slip On Shoulder Pad For Rifle Sling

I'm Looking for a pattern for a slip on padded shoulder pad for a rifle sling. I want one for my Mauser rifle. The original sling is 1 inch wide. This is my hunting rifle and would like a nice padded shoulder pad. Can anyone help me? Changing the sling all together is not an option for me. Any help would be greatly apreciated. Thank you. John

I am new to leather work and have only done some small projects. I like it and want to do more. I think I'm hooked. But anyways I just need some ideas or examples to go from not necessarlly a pattern but that would be cool to. I never made a shoulder pad before so any help would be appreciated. Thank you. John

I've never made one like your talking about but this is what i do. Make a pattern the size you want. Cut 1 piece of suede, tow pieces of leather and 1 piece of foam or what ever type of padding you want. Then cut two slots 1 1/4 inches wide in the top piece for the sling to slide through. Glue the suede, padding and middle piece of leather togeather. Then glue the top piece around the edges and around the edges of the leather next to the padding stick togeather and sew. Then thread you sling through and put it on your rifle.

post-11301-009895600 1287759717_thumb.jp

Dirtclod thank you for the reply and your help with this. Do you think wool fur could be used instead of suede and the foam? Well sheepskin leather with fur on that is. As for leather I was going to go with 5-6 ounce leather for the outside. John

Sheep skin with the wool on it should be fine. The suede is just to keep the sling from slipping off of you shoulder and the wool on sheep skin do the same thing.

Sheep skin with the wool on it should be fine. The suede is just to keep the sling from slipping off of you shoulder and the wool on sheep skin do the same thing.

Thank you!! for your help. John

Thank you!! for your help. John

John your welcome. Post a picture of it when you get it made.

John