Howdy,

I have been doing some reading on the internet about the different types of saddle soaps available. I know some people that use it for everything: cleaning, conditioning, polishing, breaking in new boots, and everything else; and others who never use it at all while taking care of their leather goods just as well (or better.)

Here are the types of saddle soaps I have found so far:

1. Cream type- yellow and white, sold in cans.

2. Bar glycerin.

3. Lyquid glycerine- I think Leather New and Lexol pH leather cleaner fall into this category.

4. Conditioner sold as saddle soap that's not (more like a leather balm than anything else).

It seems that the canned saddle soap is highly alkaline and can "burn" or dry out leather if not rinsed off.

I sell boots for a living and have always recommended saddle soap as a cleaner for very dirty boots that should be lathered and rinsed off to get rid of the dirt, before applying the approppriate conditioner - and never on exotic leathers. I like the canned saddle soap for boots, but prefer the liquid (or bar glycerine dissolved in water) for cleaning saddles and other large, tooled articles, mostly for its ease of use.

So my question is what type(s) of saddle soap do you use and why? Also what about Murphy's Oil Soap? I've used it before too.

I figured the best people to ask were the craftsmen thierselves.

Thanks to all who reply. I'm hoping to learn something new here.

Timothy

Hi Timothy,

I've used only 2 types of saddle soap, so I'm no expert but here's my experience.

My use has been for cleaning my tack and for moistening/lubricating my lace for braiding.

The yellow paste tends to color rawhide a bit and does darken my strings. The white seems

to be more moist and doesn't color the leather. I always wash off the soap when I'm done

and apply an oil or conditioner so, I haven't seen any detrimental effects on the leather. This

goes for 'roo leather, as well. Don't know if that's considered exotic, though.