KAYAK45

Replacement Heel Measurement

OK guys and gals, I'm new to this boot thing and want to resole and reheel as a start.

How do you measure and size for heel replacement?

They seem to come in "7 to 15" or such and what is the difference?

Also seams, some use a "sheet" of heel rubber and cut there own. Pros and Cons?

Your help, as always is appreciated

Novite Kevin

coffeecomp.gif

Just run of the mill boots. Some are ropers, other CLASSICS how are the sizes determined.?

Kevin,

Attached please find a chart I put together for you, outlining several CB heels, in an attempt to answer your sizing question.

Some of the figures may be hard to read. Let me know if you need any clarification.

CB heels are solid rubber with washers to cinch the heads of the nails (known as Rubber Heel Nails ) tightly to the heel base.

In days gone by, for factory heels bases, if even if just the last layer was leather, these nails were sufficient to hold the rubber heels on, maybe with a thin coat of glue for a sealed edge.

Nowadays, with Robus and other "particle leather" ground to bits and glued together as a layer of "leather", the strip is more often used for replacement. Sometimes with a 12 iron(1/4") lift and 6 iron mid layer, the Hardened Thread Nails are more appropriate. I usually use a 6/8 length.

The heels used for this photo were what I could grab quickly. Different brands will have slightly different measures.

Which is better is a question with a relative answer, CB heels with washers usually have a higher abrasion level, but worse come to worse, you may have to replace the entire heel base with genuine leather.

But the Threaded nails hold pretty good.

Good Luck,

post-8631-033924400 1309752675_thumb.jpg

Oops, I just saw that I didn't label the sizes.

Across the top are 5, 7, and 9.

The bottom row are 11, 13, and 15.

BTW, some Ropers, one used to be able to safely say all, use a half heel.