I'm wondering how i should be dying and finishing a simple everyday belt.

I notice that just about any dye i'm using tends to rub off onto my jeans, especially when I sweat, or if the belt gets wet. How can i avoid that?

I've been making my own belts for years now and some for friends. Nothing fancy, I've started using just regular belt blanks and putting on my own snaps, bevel the edges and punch the end, add a loop, put some holes on it and its ready for dying.

I've got Feibings Leather Dyes, and Eco-flo dyes. I usually dye, gum trag the edges, tan kote, or resoline, or i've even used acrylic floor polish. It doesnt seem to matter what i use, they all have seeped into my clothes in one way or another.

Am i doing it wrong?

Edited by cudofcow

In a one word answer: yes, . . . you are doing something wrong if using resolene and you are still getting dye bleeding onto your clothing.

I have been making belts for over 5 years now, . . . only one ever bled, . . . it did not get Resolene, . . . the ones that did not bleed, . . . got Resolene.

I use a 1 inch bristle brush (Harbor Freight, . . . about 50 cents each), . . . I use Resolene at 50/50 strength with plain old tap water. I put a coat on the back, . . . brushing on product until I get a good lather, . . . brush out the bubbles, . . . left / right / up / down / left oblique / right oblique / repeat and continue until all bubbles are gone.

Turn it over and put a coat on the front, . . . same process.

Turn it back over again, . . . another coat, . . . once more, . . . do the front. You wind up with two coats on each side.

Hang by the buckle end, . . . handling by the edges as you hang it, . . . touch up those areas you touched.

Leave it for 24 hours, . . . it should NEVER allow dye to leach out again.

You will also need to form the buckle end, . . . doing the "fold over" while the belt is wet, . . . I do it usually after doing the back the first time.