Gregmw

Tools To Buy At Tandy For $40.00

Hi,

I have a $40.00 gift certificate /Credit from Tandy Leather..

I already own 10 various engraving tools (B197,B702,A104,c431,s706,f910,v407,u710,p206,f891)+ a swivel knife and modeller...

If you had those tools and $40.00 what would you get .I also have to consider freight.

I am very new to this and like picture engraving and making engraved guitar straps (

Regards

Greg

I am very new to this and like picture engraving and making engraved guitar straps (

Have you considered one of their strap cutters to make cutting the guitar straps out a little easier on yourself? You could probably pickup the strap cutter

and possibly some of their hardware with the left over cash on the certificate.

Have you considered one of their strap cutters to make cutting the guitar straps out a little easier on yourself? You could probably pickup the strap cutter

and possibly some of their hardware with the left over cash on the certificate.

Thanks for that idea,but I was kind of thinking of extra stamping tools...

Regards

Greg

I would look at what your main focus is, and what you will need to do that. The main thing is to buy tools that YOU will use. Everyone is different, and what I have may be far different from what you may need.

My main comment will be to look at the quality of the item, and buy the best that you can afford. One thing that Tandy does that kind of irks me is that they really tout some items that are gussied up, have a famous name attached, or some other marketing ploy to run the cost up. I would pass on the "Damascus" , and stainless knives, and some of the other cheap Chinese tools that they have. Also watch the ads since they run specials on some items fairly often. Granite slabs, and glass slickers can be found for free, or be made from found materials, so get the things that you cannot make, or find easily.