Sign in to follow this  
gunfighter48

make my daughter a Bible cover

I am going to make my daughter a Bible cover and want to use a pigskin lining. I have never used a lining before on any of my projects and just want to find out the best procedure to use to glue it to the leather cover. If I use contact cement will it bleed thru to the front of the lining? Any help would be much appreciated. If anyone has any good cross patterns they are will to share, I could use some.

Thanks,

John

Use the glue sparingly. You may use contact cement or white glue such as Leatherweld. Lightly apply to both sides, allow to become tacky and then adhere the pieces together.

It is a good idea to block cut the front cover pattern over size all directions by 1/4 inch or more. Glue up the lining and apply. Then cut the exact pattern size. This way you have nice, neat matched up edges.

Paul

John,

I use quite a lot pigskin lining on things. I have not had a problem with the glue bleeding through. Once in a while I will get a "wet spot" but that must be solvent. It evaporates pretty quickly and is not sticky. One thing to watch with pigskin is pinholes. Because it is so thin they are more common than with other types of lining. When I pull a new piece, I hold it up to the light and cut out any pinholes right off the bat. Glue will go through the tiniest pinhole and mess you up.

I attach the linings with the cement still a little wet. If it is too dry and I get a wrinkle, it can be a pain to pull and reposition.

I am attaching a picture of a Bible cover I did a few years ago for a bullfighter. He sketched out the design and sent it to me. He wanted the cross done in "old turquoise" and silver. This cover is one of my favorites. This cross probably gets more comments than most others I do. I think Chan Geer has a book with some cross patterns, and I am sure a Google image search will bring up a bunch.

Copy_of_Cropped_old_turq_silver_Bible_cover__Small_.jpg