Subelec

Newbie Introduction And Questions

My name Chris and I am a compulsive hobbyist.

I play guitar, mandolin, ukulele, harmonica, and bang a banjo when feeling brave.

I also make beer and other alcoholic beverages on a regular basis.

I shave with an old fashioned safety razor (double edge) and a straight razor and lather with a badger hair brush.

To add my list of manly hobbies, I decided to start leather working to appeal to my need to create.

The itch happens when I look at something and say "I can do that!"

I have bought a few tools to get started and have run into many learning curve problems that I can't seem to find the answers to after trolling the forums and YouTube videos.

I have noticed after dyeing my cheap little thin pieces of vegtan from the local big hobby store that the material is now stiff as a board and curling on the edges...that doesn't help make a nice wallet. What are the proper steps to dyeing a piece of leather that doesn't make it feel like a piece of jerky when it is all said and done? I have been rubbing olive oil on these pieces like crazy to no effect.....but I have soft hands now.

Also, I am not sure but it seems to me that I have been losing some size after dyeing (I read about the removal of moisture after dyeing) and can understand that. Should I be accounting for a certain amount of shrinkage? Like a 1/4 of an inch or something? I would like to make some patterns to repeat my work and I am not sure if this something that people take into account for dyeing (and stitching).

Having fun but getting frustrated with what I don't know....if there is something that I should be reading to answer these questions, please let me know. I have been digging but not finding the right information.

Thanks for any help!