hazymat

Greetings From London Uk

I've been loitering and pilfering advice on this forum for a good few days now so thought it might be time to introduce myself.

My name is Mat, I am a freelance photographer from London, and I'm looking to get started in the amazing world of leather working.

Although I took horse-riding lessons when I was younger, I am much more of the indoorsy type, I like tech, gadgets, urban / fashion-inspired design, and ingenious, minimal styles when it comes to leather.

I'll be completely up-front and say that I'm far more interested in the overall form of a project rather than the decorative aspect of leatherworking and I must admit I don't like any kind of patterns or fussy coloured dying, and believe that debossing should be reserved for text or discreet logos only ;)

That said, this is only my personal aesthetic; I understand the wonderful tradition of decorative tooling, and can appreciate it in a detached way as an art form in itself.

I guess the joy of leather working is that it encompasses so many different styles and backgrounds and preferences!

So far I've bought a load of tools, cut up a load of high quality leather, but stopped short of actually beginning to make my first bag. I'm waiting for a delivery of beeswax, the Valerie Michael book, and something to sharpen my useless awl, before I get properly started!

Hello!

Edited by hazymat

Welcome! It will be interesting to see what you come up with for a designed piece. Post some photos when you get started.

I've yet to do a full introduction post myself, but with the reference to Valerie Michael I had to post!

If you ever get the chance, funding allowing, I'd definitely recommend that you head to Tetbury and take a course with Val and Neil, trading under Macgregor & Michael! I did a decorative leather course (so clearly your cup of tea :P ) and it was marvellous.