Leatherbyelaine

New Makers Stamp Is Hard To Stamp Cleanly

This is a newbie question, but I finally got my makers stamp and its a kind of stamp I've never used before. It's HUGE and I'm having a hard time getting a clean stamp that isn't "shaky". What is the best way to hammer this stamp?? I'm using a rubber mallot on granite with (obviously) tooling leather. Here's a pic of one stamp that came out right (after several mishaps !)

post-61195-0-30333700-1435278471_thumb.j

Probably a heavier maul and make sure your leather is cased up good, just like for tooling. You want your maul heavy enough that one hit will do the job without putting a whole lot of effort into the blow. I don't know how heavy my heaviest one is, but I don't use it for tooling, just for my makers stamp and drive punches. Weaver's catalog shows their heaviest maul at 4-1/2 lbs.

Really? Ok. I wish Tandy would have mentioned this before buying the stamp.

Thank you Bob for the link!

Making sure to wet your leather and allowing it to soak is a great start. The orange or dead blow hammer works great. Also, when you hold the stamp handle.....make sure to apply downward pressure on the stamp.

The real problem is the evil empire got it backwards. The face is brass which is great. but the 5" delrin rod they attach to it is the problem. It absorbs

the majority of the energy of the blow. So yo have to hit it with something very heavy and very hard and probably multiple times. In my setups, the

stamp is delrin but is only 1" tall. I use the hefty handle to drive the stamp. As we all know, metal transfers energy very well.

The easiest solution may well be to simply NOT try to do it all in one blow. Looking at the picture, the center looks good and any fading is

in the outer edges. Hold on tight to the handle and After the initial strike, try rotating the handle like you would a joystick while tapping the