Kerryanne

Beveling Question

Hello,

This is my first project where I am attempting beveling and then burnishing. Normally, on the few projects I have completed, I have simply burnished the ends.

The leather I used was 0.14" (3.6mm) thick and 3/4" (19mm) wide. The beveler I used was a No3 from Tandy. I am really inexperienced, but this doesn't look right to me. Have I used the wrong angle or the wrong tool or will it look better when burnished? How do you know what size skiver to use?

Link to imgur album

Example for those who don't want to look at Imgur:

4ziSlY1.jpg

Edited by Kerryanne

Different makers use different numbers and Tandy has been known to change their numbers as well.
As I understand it, the thinner the leather, the smaller the edge beveler you use.

Go here: http://leatherworker.net/forum/index.php?showtopic=18101

Hidepounder has a fabulous handout for finishing edges. It is the second pinned topic in the "How do I do that?" forum. His handout and that topic should be able to answer most all of your questions.

And Welcome to the Club!

Thank you, I am hooked! This is my 3rd project in 2 weeks, plus all the time I spent before hand looking it all up. My first belt is wonk and frankly awful but my partner loves it and he wears it proudly (whilst I cringe in the background because I am a perfectionist).

I know I have to burnish it, but what do you think of the picture? Too much beveled off or does it look OK?

Too hard to tell from the picture. Burnish it up and see how it turns out. Make a list of the things you like and dislike about how it turned out. Work on improving against the dislike list.

Remember, you will always be your own worst critic. Mistakes happen, just do your best and let the rest sort itself out. Everything you do is practice to be better at what you are doing.

You are right, and burnished up and I often find even if there are small faults no one turns down free hand made leather goods!

Thank you.