tomstas

3 Possible Adlers And 1 Singer

hello,

I'm attending an car upholstery class and i'm looking for a good sewing machine .

I've found some interesting adlers but I'm not sure they'l be any good for my future car projects.'e

The first one I looked at was a brand new duerkopp Adler 267-373. It's from a well respected dealer in holland. What I don't like about is that it is brand new and covert in white plastic. I hear a lot about new DA not beeing as good as the old one's.

So would it be better to buy an old version of this one?

Second one I found is an old duerkopp(no adler) 291. Is this one better then the 267? What's the difference ?

Is there any logic in the serial numbers? What does 267,373,etc all stand for?

The last one I found is a Duerkopp Adler 767 Fa 373. This looks like a complete different league. But hey I'm only a rookie so I could be wrong.

All the machines are in the same price range

finally, my grandfather has an old singer he used to fix shoes about 30 yearsq ago. He will show it to me on friday ,maybe it can be used after some TLc. BUt i think it's gonna be hard to find parts for this one if needed.

If someone knows a lot about these 3 please letme know

I'll post som some pictures of the 3 DA machine

da767-fa-373_zpsda8b3bd5.jpg

267-373_zps7a7aee41.jpg

Edited by tomstas

I can help a bit here;

The original 267s were all made in Germany, and, to the best of my knowledge, all were grey or hammer grey paint. These have been discontinued for some time now.

The white ones, again, to the best of my knowledge, came from China at first. These were 267-373 models. This factory that made this model is,again, no longer. We called to restock, and were told that the factory was flattened in China. They didn't have any 267 models for a good number of years after this.