splitrail

Good Morning From Hill Country Texas

Glad to finally be a part of my first forum. I was having all kinds of trouble with Resolene, and found the answers to my troubles right here at leatherworker.net. THANK YOU to everyone who takes the time to help people like me try to build skills.

I am an expat living now in the land of cowboys, leather and sunshine, and I am loving it.

I graduated from Fashion Design, (many many) years ago, so the sewing and pattern making comes easy for me, but the edging and finishing is all new.

Thanks in advance for all the information and advice you are about to give me!

Julie.

post-61336-0-08574700-1428243725_thumb.j

post-61336-0-16039000-1428243809_thumb.j

post-61336-0-22298300-1428243865_thumb.j

post-61336-0-22063300-1428244512_thumb.j

Welcome! Your stuff looks great. I assume those are wooden ends in the little black roll bag??

Yeah, I cut out wooden ovals then glued on a stainless thin sheet of metal, trimmed, the steel, sanded them with a scotchbrite pad, then clear coated them, I was amazed how close it came to looking like a brushed aluminum. I was thinking mirror might have been cool, but the fingerprints would have drove me crazy.

Thanks for the compliment.

Where did you find stainless that thin, and how did you cut it? I hate working with stainless steel as it is so darned hard. I have seen sheets of thin aluminum, but the black bleed off is a bummer, and I have not had much success with coating. I too use wooden ends in some of my rolls,but usually I stain and lacquer them, using the "wood look" to compliment the color of leather I am using. Love your stuff......hope to see more. Eccho

Nice work......And, greetings from the bottom of your hill. Welcome to the forum!

Welcome to the forum glad to have you join us. I am across SA from you If I can help give me a call

www.mecopocketholsters.com

Well Thank you very much.