Hallyth

Hello! Newbie Member, Complete Novice!

Hello everyone!

I am a brand new member...thank you mods for approving me.

I live on a canal boat (narrow boat) in the UK, and am also a boat builder....again of canal boats, for a living, with my own business.

I am looking for a new hobby though, that is something completely different for me, but also it has to be something I can do on the boat....so, limited space, limited water & 12v electric only, both of which are somewhat limited also, depending on where we are and the time of year...we rely on solar for charging our batteries, and as we float around continually, we have no mains hook up. The boat is 62' long but only 6'10" max outside, and holds 2 of us and a ridgeback cross dog, so space is limited.

Because of all this, I thought perhaps leather crafting would work for me?

Many years ago I bought a leather molded/sculptered face, which I love, and would like to learn to do something like it in time. Is this do-able with my living restrictions? I would also like to look at making things that are useful, belt holders for windlasses (the tool that opens canal locks) jewellry, hats, pouches, and such like.

I have no access to any sewing machine so need to be able to do everything by hand.

Am I being realistic thinking this is a craft area I can do on the boat?

Thanks in advance for any help or advice any of you offer, I am looking forward to being part of the leatherworking community! :)

Oh, my other problem is that I have to rely on my phone, or a modem for internet aboard, and the signal varies hugely around the canals, so downloading lots of photo's/video can be a bit hit and miss!

It could be complicated. Do you even have space where you would store your tools and materials?

Hi Hally,