nichovaladez

New To Leather Need Advice On The Tools I Need

Hi Guy's, I'm new to the whole leather game. I've had this project in mind that I would like to create. It is a leather keychain. Below are examples of the type of keychain I want to create. Can you guys help me out in picking tools I would need for this specific job. I don't know what would be the best tools for cutting leather in shapes similar to this and then constructing it.

Any help in greatly appreciated.

900x600px-LL-e61c9a23_1000x500px-LL-10b46975_0d26cbdb.jpg

key_brn_nickel02.jpg

img_4483_800.jpg

Just to cut it out and put it together, a utility knife, hole punch, and a rivet setter is all you need.

To finish the edges, you can get them damp with a small sponge and use a piece of canvas or denim to rub the edge. Fold it up a time or two and buff the edge rather hard. You want to heat it up a little. The plastic burnish wheel sold by Tandy does a nice job too.

Thanks again radar67!

To finish the edges, you can get them damp with a small sponge and use a piece of canvas or denim to rub the edge. Fold it up a time or two and buff the edge rather hard. You want to heat it up a little. The plastic burnish wheel sold by Tandy does a nice job too.

Chicago screws from Tandy are also a nice alternative to rivets, and don't require any tools.

If you want these to look semi-professional, you could buy an edge beveller to give the edges a nicer appearance.

Thanks Cameroo! I definitely need them looking professional, I'm gonna be selling them retail for my clothing line. Any other suggestions you might have to accomplish that are greatly appreciated.

I'm also gonna be getting my own setup to make my own stamped leather labels. I'm looking into the arbor press/stamp plate idea. Do you know for these, would the finishing process be the same? Also if you have any recommendations on any tools I will need for this.

Thank you,

Nicho