itchaguide

My Tool Rant!

I am rather new to leatherwork and I am still collecting tools on a "as required" basis, today I had my latest Tandy order show up in the mail and it included a lace maker.. I have been messing with this thing for 30 minutes and so far I have a bunch of leather chips and not much else.. the blade now has a "U" shaped notch at each opening..

OK I paid $6.00 for this POS but even so I would expect that a tool would at least cut a few feet of lace before the blade wore out... I am really getting discouraged and would appreciate any suggestions for leather supplies besides Tandy..

Oh and I am in Canada so a company that has a catalog or decent online store and will ship to the great white north would be a bonus..

thanks

When I first started out I also bought one of these. It is a gimick tool at best. I am sorry you wasted the money like I did but you are money ahead by pitching it.

Tim

TK-Leather

I've been able to make the lace cutter perform in the manner in which it was intended, but in my opinion, that is the biggest piece of :censored2: that Tandy sells...

My Lace Cutter that i bought at Tandy is one of the Handest tools that i have.

you have to understand it.

Mine will not cut thin deer skin....It will cut med to thick Elk.

I have no trouble with veg tan leather, with a sharp blade. WHEN CHAINGING THE BLADE

BE CAREFUL.....YOU'LL GET CUT.

The best leather for me to cut is chrome tan leather.

sorry you are having problems. hope you get it figured out.