BrushyHillGuide

Beginner Needs Some Advice!

OK folks, take it easy on me - this is my first try at tooling leather. I need a new set of spur straps, so I thought I'd try making one. Below is a picture of where I'm at right now. I drew the design freehand on paper and then transferred it.

Obviously, I have some control issues with my knife and I have a lot of undercut- especially on the fine points. I'm going to be working on that.

I'm also struggling with dyeing - the dye that I got in my little Tandy starter pack is really 'goopy' and I'm having a lot of difficulty applying is smoothly and evenly. Is it supposed to be thick and goopy? I would think that it would work better if it was a lot thinner and more like liquid; so it would go on more quickly and evenly. Am I missing something or doing it wrong? Is there a trick to getting a smooth and even application? Is there a BETTER dye brand to use?

What I'm really struggling with is trying to find a way to use dye in order to shade things like the feathers - like I do when I'm painting. I do a lot of ink on paper painting (like watercolor only more permanent) and I think there's a way to apply the same technique to leather. Ink and dye are essentially the same and leather is sure no more porous that water color paper or board. What I'm going for is a tying together of painting and leather work but I don't want to use any colors other than the earthy traditional leather tones. Has anyone on here ever tried to do this? I'm pretty confident that I can do it if I can find a thinner dye to "paint" with or if I can thin out the dye I'm using. Does anyone have any suggestions?

I would sure appreciate any suggestions, critiques, or tips you can give me on ANY aspect of what I'm doing (or not doing) to improve my work! Y'all are the experts!

Thanks!

Nick

post-24159-045867500 1316470659_thumb.jp