Amadea

Drawing With The Swivel Knife?

Hi all!

I'm really new to leather craft and I appreciate all the help I can get. I've tooled a few practice pieces, but not nearly as many as I'd like. I live in an apartment and my neighbors on either side work 3rd shift and sleep during the day. I can't bring myself to tap away when I know they're home and trying to rest. So, being the thoughtful neighbor I am, I've been experimenting with different, quieter, ways of decorating leather. My primary method had been to use my swivel knife, to "draw" on the leather, using crosshatching for shading. Kind of like pen and ink drawing. This technique suits my subject matter well, because I'm into old timey etchings and stuff like that. It's pretty nontraditional stuff, but I like what I've done so far. Just have some questions:

1. Does anyone else do this?

2. I try not to cut too deep, but I know that all the closely spaced and crossing lines have to weaken the leather. Is there anything I can do, like backing the leather or using a specific finish, to offset this?

3. Would this method work for a belt? It doesn't seem bold enough, like the fine lines would get lost unless you were right up on it. My friend wants me to design a belt with animals on it, and she wants me to do an original design. I'm having trouble coming up with anything, because I feel like a belt wants to be tooled, so you can see whats going on. Trouble is, I haven't done enough tooling to know how to begin designing a tooling pattern.

4. Any advice for tooling in a quiet zone?

These are some examples of what I've been up to:

post-28241-008868000 1327619050_thumb.jp

post-28241-059933100 1327619176_thumb.jp

Thanks!

Personally, I like your approach. You done a good job, make your own niche!!!.

Why don't you try a belt using 8 or 10oz cowhide with no backing leather. That thickness would give you plenty of depth. Don't cut more than halfway through whatever thickness leather you use.

Farm animals?

ferg