Ingrid H

Hello From Maine

Hello there! I'm new to your forum and wanted to introduce myself. I'm a carpenter by trade but a serial hobbyist in my spare time. I'm a dog lover and got into leather working through my passion for dogs, learning new things, and wanting to DIY when a dog collar can cost $150!

This is a close copy of that collar I couldn't bring myself to spend $150 on:

100_2315_zpsc1dec0e1.jpg

This is a collar I called "Owe Canada" because I soldered rivets to the back side of Canadian pennies and put them on a dog collar:

100_2366_zps6b30cf59.jpg

I made back my investment on buying tools and materials and supported my collar making hobby as well as donations to Doberman rescues and local shelters by making my most popular model:

100_2277_zpsef0c7eaf.jpg

I've done tutorials on basic leather working for fellow dog lovers:

100_2298_zpsf64f6e8e.jpg

100_2301_zpsc762187b.jpg

Made some more complicated leashes:

100_2193_zps74d5b9d4.jpg

But I burned out on the dog stuff. I set out to do really custom work, but I allowed my customers to push me too far and wound up quitting. Before I closed my little "shop", I started getting into something completely different and more complicated than dog collars.

This is my first and only project that involved stamping and hand sewing. It's obviously not finished or right. I never planned ahead for a clasp, and the stitching on the strap is "faux" because after I went to stitch it, I realized that the d-ring wouldn't have enough room:

102_2802_zps02c5ac63.jpg

102_2801_zps8cde6d09.jpg

102_2805_zps600d54a2.jpg

102_2799_zps871dbec4.jpg

I'm not going to try to make any money at purse making, but the sting of quitting my collar business is going away and I'm looking into new stuff to do with leather.