LeatherWerks

Which Machine Would You Buy And Why

I'm getting ready to pull the trigger on a new machine, one I'm going to use mostly for leather upholstry work. I was hoping one of the experts might let me know what machine they thought was the best for my work. The Consew I can get new for 1250.00 or so, the Juki for around 1850.00.

Thanks,

Steve

Im far from an expert, but from your bio you seem to specialize in holsters. I just bought a Techsew 4100 and am very pleased with it for sewing heavy leather projects like holsters. In order for folks to help you you need to be a little more specific of the Juki and consew you are looking at.

A Consew 206RB(-5), or Juki DNU-1541, or LU-1508 (for heavier materials) are all top of the line upholstery machines. All are able to sew leather, up to a maximum of 3/8 inch, with #138 to #207 thread. They use the commonly available system 135x16 leather point, and 135x17 round point needles. These needles are available in sizes up to a #25. The Consew has a large M style bobbin, while the Jukis have a larger double capacity hook and bobbin.

I'm getting ready to pull the trigger on a new machine, one I'm going to use mostly for leather upholstry work. ...

Thanks,

Steve

Where is there anything mentioned about wanting to use it to sew holsters?

Edited by Wizcrafts

The only holsters you can sew on a Juki, Consew, Chandler, or Singer walking foot flat bed upholstery grade machine are pancake holsters. You will be limited to a maximum size 207 thread. The large M or DNU/LU bobbin machines can hold enough #207 thread to do plenty of holsters. You machine will be pounding hard with #207 thread, a #24 needle and lots of foot pressure.

For leather standard upholstery, use #138 thread, with a #22 or #23 leather point needle. If this is too large, go down to #92 thread, with a #19 or #20 needle.

In his Bio it says his specialty is holsters.

Art

Where is there anything mentioned about wanting to use it to sew holsters?