Howdy good folks!

I'm new to the forum, though I've been surfing through here several times.

I'm new to leather work, too. I've found this to great past time/hobby for me. It mixes with my interests in Cowboy action shooting.

Here's a few things that I've made in the past year....

My first major project was a travel bag. It was a gift to a friend. It was made from oil tanned leather and saddle stitched. I made the pattern from pictures I'd seen on the internet of similar classic traveler's bags. It was quite a challenge to start from the drawing board, to finished product. The picture is of the bag before the straps were cut to length and punched for the buckles.

post-55328-0-65187800-1412084579_thumb.j

My next project was a rifle sling...again as a gift for a friend. But, it did lead to an order for six more! The sling is also my design. Nothing fancy, but it is made with a continuous 1" belt strap. The strap has a decorative top with flor de lis and shield cut-outs. There is an underlayer of suede on the cut outs. The back piece of the strap is padded with neoprene, and covered in suede. The border stitching for the cut-outs was done on a early 1900's produciton Singer sewing machine that belonged to my wife's mother. It has a motor, but I turned the drive by hand to control the stitch pattern. The top and back piece are made from 4 to 5 oz. leather, and neoprene padding is added between these layers to cover the "bump" made by the continuos strap which runs between them. The top and back pieces are saddle stitched on the edges. The picture is a close up of the flor de lis. I have since gotten much better at controlling my border stitching.

post-55328-0-90960900-1412085570_thumb.j