KY23

My First Set Of Spur Straps On My New Sewing Machine

Made my first set of spur straps on my sewing machine. I'm still learning and need some practice on my basket weave. I also should have left a bit more distance between my edge and the stitch line.

I made these for a teenage girl that I sold one of my horses too. She is barrel racing with her and wanted to give her something to thank her for taking care of the horse.

post-14350-0-55374700-1450487198_thumb.j

post-14350-0-39610200-1450487208_thumb.j

post-14350-0-95142300-1450487215_thumb.j

post-14350-0-88096100-1450487225_thumb.j

post-14350-0-19677700-1450487234_thumb.j

Look great!

What machine? TPI? and thread size?

Nice work. I think it looks fine with the stitching that close because you used quite a short stitch length. If you were at 5-6spi, it would look too close, imho. It is hard to tell without a reference but it looks like 8-10+ spi. What size needle and thread is that? Is it stitched in a groove? It looks like the holes are quite big for the thread, it could be just how they have pulled down from the tension, or the depth of the groove, or the lighting, However, if it was me i would try the same thread with a smaller needle on some scrap and see what happens.

It was a 8 spi and 207 thread with a 24 needle. There is a stitch groove. I've tried the 207 thread with the 23 needle and sometimes the thread looks a little worn. I can use 138 thread with the 23 needle.

Machine is a Cowboy 4500.