otak

Inexpensive Leather

I was wondering where the cheapest place to buy veg tan tooling leather is. I am on a budget and leather is very expensive. I am not looking to get high end leather, because I am a beginner, but just want some "economy" stuff. I get most of my stuff through Tandy, but I am sure that there are companies that may sell cheaper, but are not as well known. Tandy kind of has a monopoly there.

I was wondering where the cheapest place to buy veg tan tooling leather is. I am on a budget and leather is very expensive. I am not looking to get high end leather, because I am a beginner, but just want some "economy" stuff. I get most of my stuff through Tandy, but I am sure that there are companies that may sell cheaper, but are not as well known. Tandy kind of has a monopoly there.

How much are you looking for? Springfield has really good prices, as well as good bags of remnants by the 2lb bag. They'll also cut to the size you need. I bought a side from them and 2 of the bags of tooling remnants a couple months ago. I haven't touched the side yet and I still have 1 full bag of the remnants. Anything I can find at Springfield I will buy there first. You can't beat their customer service.

Well, they've got double shoulders listed for $4.50 at about 13 sq/ft here ($58 for the whole thing plus about 12ish shipping I'd guess - $70). I'd give them a call and talk to them about what you need. I'm pretty positive they'll find a way to get you what you need at a price you're looking for.

http://springfieldleather.com/30019/Shoulder%2CDouble%2CS.Ameri%2C7-9-oz/

If you have a nearby TLF, then that may be the best bet. Buy what is on sale, and if you are going to be using someone a reasonable amount, get on their best program, it will save you money. There is an ugly word in this business, it is SHIPPING. If you are buying from a TLF close by, that takes $15 off the price of having it shipped, that's at least $1 per foot for a shoulder.

Art