Sign in to follow this  
twofour878

repairing a torn horn leather

Hey, I'm new to the whole saddle world other than knowing how to sit in one. My mother asked me if I could fix a horn leather and I wasnted to ask what you guys would do for this. I don't have a workshop or very many tools so I'd like to avoid taking it apart and just cover the exposed area.

IMG00108.jpg

IMG00109.jpg

post-7443-1232782377_thumb.jpg

post-7443-1232782417_thumb.jpg

This is a fairly easy repair from what I can see from your pictures, they were not too clear. First clean out all the old threads. Use a good glue and glue the piece back down using several needles to carfully line up the old holes. Stick 4-6 needles up through the holes from the bottom and lay over the flap lining up the old sewing holes. You can now sew this back down using 2 needle method or a jerk needle.

Randy

Randy--I really hate to sound dumb here, (and this is probably a real newbie question) but what is a jerk needle?

This is a fairly easy repair from what I can see from your pictures, they were not too clear. First clean out all the old threads. Use a good glue and glue the piece back down using several needles to carfully line up the old holes. Stick 4-6 needles up through the holes from the bottom and lay over the flap lining up the old sewing holes. You can now sew this back down using 2 needle method or a jerk needle.

Randy

Randy, it looks to me like the bottom half of the horn cap is missing so there's nothing to sew the top half to. Is that correct twofour878?

Dan

I looks that way to me too, Dan. I think, judging by the photo, that twofour878 could take a round hunk of saddle leather, cut and skive a tounge to fit into the wrap under the horn, and Barge it onto the bottom of the horn. The stitch holes in the top piece look like they might be OK, so once the old thread is cleaned out, you can just sew through those holes again.