Sign in to follow this  
eminart

What Kind Of Leather Do I Need?

Hello everyone, I'm a noob here. I'm wanting to get started doing some leatherworking. I'm wanting to start with some nice, custom dog collars, but I have no idea which kind of leather I should buy.

Can anybody help me with the type and weight I should get?

Are there any charts that show for example how thick 8 oz leather is? I'm thinking I'm going to double the leather and stitch it together, which will allow for more creativity with insets and stuff. So, I guess I'll want the leather to be half the thickness of what I want the collar to be.

Also, what the difference between a dye and a stain?

Hi, if you make web search for leather thickness chart oz, it will show you such charts.

8 oz = 1/8" = 3.2mm

4 oz = 1/16" = 1.6 mm

Vegtan (= tooling or carving leather) allows to do stampling, modeling, carving. And from the same not yet dyed shoulder or side you can make collars of different colors.

Other, already dyed leather is of the same color for the whole side. Not a problem if you can afford that and have a space to store it.

Harness and oiled leather are more weather protected. Latigo is more stiff.

English Briddle looks really good, more hot stuffed than tooling leather and is stiffer because of that.

Some tanneries may make leather thinner for you, otherwise you have to buy leather of required thickness.

Difference between dye and stain:

Dye is penetrating inside the leather, stain is more surface bound. In most cases a dye is preferable. Stains for antiquing, paints for surface application of color (it will come inside pores too, if they were not sealed).

I'm not making dog collars, but likely you will need to make them more or less water resistant (Resolene, Sno-Seal or others) and lined.

There is a lot of information here.

Good luck!

Thanks! That helps a lot.