Sign in to follow this  
pella

Hello and here's some of my work

Hello,

i'm happy to join this board, i am a saddler, i make mostly dog collars, leashes and horse bridles, i do not make saddles yet. I do want to make a western saddle soon. I do repairs on them for now.

I learn most of what i do by myself, i study fine leatherwork at school but working with heavy leather is self-taught. I hand-stich most of my work.

Marie

:welcome: Pella!

How did you find the board? Your work is good looking- I hope you post more pics. How long have you been doing leatherwork? I'm glad you are here, and hope you enjoy the forum. We are lucky to have leatherworkers from all over the world with all sorts of talents. They are a friendly bunch, too- hey, someone get Marie a cup of coffee and a doughnut, please? Make yourself at home!

Johanna

Both are beautiful pieces, but I'm really fond of that Celtic themed piece. It seems wide for a dog collar? No matter what it's for, it sure is gorgeous. I like your use of color on it.

i do not really know how do i find this board...well i was on google oh yes! i was looking for canadian leatherworking guild...seem there no one.

I study leather 4 years but mainly for Maroquinerie (french term) all kinds of bags, wallet belt, anything but saddlery, machine are not made to live in harmony with me...I preffer my hands and awl. I begin making repair on harness i was still living in the city, i liked the smell of the horse on the leather...then we move here in remote village. So i began more seriously doing some bridles, halters...try them on horses, first where not really good looking, but i made a lot of search over the web, looking at actual bridlework and with the precious tips of Verlane and her booklet, i finnaly made up to something nicer. I now live only of my leatherwork since about a year and it go better and better.

I am always looking to improve myself as i wish to achieve high end products made the old way.