Sign in to follow this  
Tac

Greetings from Arizona

Being new to the forum, I thought I'd take a moment to introduce myself.... My given name is Jerry, but all my friends call me "Tac".... It's a nick-name I picked up, after the "police academy" movies came out.... Short for "Tackleberry", who is the gun-nut cop...... I'll leave the reasoning as to why I got labeled with that name to your imagination... :)

I am a working cop (Sergeant), Firearms Instructor (Department Range Master) and a cowboy action shooter.... Most of my projects are work related or directed at my other shooting related hobbies.

I took an "industrial arts" class in Jr. High School, too many years ago to remember, and that was my intro to leather crafting.... I re-discovered it out of necessity, when I needed to repair a holster.... before too long, I was buying out half of the Tandy store and building all kinds of gear for my guns and work items... next thing you know, I'm being asked to make holsters/gear for the guys at work.... And having fun doing it...

Most of what I have learned regarding leather work has come from trial/error, reading books and on-line, or in forums like this one, with a video or two thrown in. I have stuck pretty much with what I know ( I know guns and holsters well), and am just starting to open my eyes to the multitude of other projects out there.

Anyway... that's me... Thanks for having me.

-Tac

Welcome Tac and may I say thanks for protecting us. I don't think cops get enough thanks.

I look forward to seeing some of your projects - and guns. I love 'em.

Art

Hi and welcome Tac!

Good story and introduction.

Seem like you have come to the right place and the Tandy store will get more visits from you;-)

We love to see pics so feel free. People is always very kind and "bad" criticism is an unknown term.