Sign in to follow this  
jestermg

Tooled Deer In Leather

I am a beginner in the leather world. I have been fooling around with leather for about 5 months. Usually made braclets, masks, etc etc. My 1st major item was a pair os Leather Santa suspenders for myself, since I play Santa Claus at Christmas. Actually playing Santa is one of the major reasons I took up the hobby of leather craft. I wanted to have a handcarved and tooled belt but when I was quoted close to 500 dollars I thought, Heck I can do that.....and so it goes.

This is one of my 1st attempts of molding leather animals into leather. Be gentle on me, this is my 1st attempt.

post-22768-060933000 1310927816_thumb.jp

Edited by jestermg

Looks real good to me. Nice job on the basket weave too!

Edited by Rhide

Great job. If thats your first your really good.It took me 10 years to get that good and I've only been doing leather for 5 years. KT

It is my first attempt at an animal. I have tooled around some with Sheridan patterns and other effects but the 1st time to just get in there with a modeling tool and go to town. I should mention that I am an artist without any education or degrees, so I wasn't overly surprised that I could do this but was pleasntly surprised with the way it turned out.

Now if I can keep from screwing it up when I allpy a finish.

Removed comment

Edited by Rhide

Looks fantastic to me. I'm amazed at how well the basket stamping looks also. Its hard for me to perfectly line up the tool with the previous stamp for uniformity, but you got it perfect! The deer is also sharp looking lots of detail. I wouldn't know where to begin to carve something like that. You said modeling tool? You did that whole deer with just a modeling tool?

Blazin,