Vikti

Shoulder Straps

Due to the rising cost in gas, and it also seems the rising distances I have to travel to work, it looks like that I'm going to be on a motorcycle as much as possible (at least there's good in the bad). But being an electrician, I have a bunch of tools I have to carry with me. So instead of buying myself a backpack tool bag which may tear up after a year or so, I'm going to start making myself one and I was wondering if there is anyone out there who can give me tips on making comfortable shoulder straps seeing as right now I'm driving almost 55 miles to work and I have a good amount (weight wise) to carry.

Although, any tips on construction will be appreciated.

Damon

Due to the rising cost in gas, and it also seems the rising distances I have to travel to work, it looks like that I'm going to be on a motorcycle as much as possible (at least there's good in the bad). But being an electrician, I have a bunch of tools I have to carry with me. So instead of buying myself a backpack tool bag which may tear up after a year or so, I'm going to start making myself one and I was wondering if there is anyone out there who can give me tips on making comfortable shoulder straps seeing as right now I'm driving almost 55 miles to work and I have a good amount (weight wise) to carry.

Damon

I've been making guitar straps that are 3 inches wide out of 9-10 oz leather. The extra width and stiffness seems to distribute the weight across the shoulder and negates the need for padding, (unless you want padding)

Hope that helps.

padding would be nice but not needed if the comfort factor is there. For padding I can get a sheet of 3/8 " neoprene that I could sew into a strap.

padding would be nice but not needed if the comfort factor is there. For padding I can get a sheet of 3/8 " neoprene that I could sew into a strap.

Not what you are looking for, but for safety, I'd recommend bike/saddle bags or a tow behind trailer for tools.

Kevin