MagiKelly

Celtic knotwork journal

First off Hi. I just registered today and will be looking round to start all your good ideas so thought I should at least start by showing something of mine. First off I am very new to this and really just learning.

The main things I have made to date are journal covers. I posted a tutorial on how I make these on my own forum (for canoeists) and it is here

http://www.songofthepaddle.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=5847

Since then I have improved a little and I now dye the inside leather as well as the pen holder. I do the stitching in full unsplit artificial sinew and have started doing some embossing / carving.

Here is my first Celtic knotwork one. I found just the thing for designing Celtic knots here

http://www.clanbadge.com/ details of how it works is here http://www.clanbadge.com/how.htm

I got the truetype font for making up these patterns and did a few tests on coasters. Happy with the results it was time to do a full journal cover. Here is the result. it is hand stitched with artificial sinew and made pretty much as the tutorial. the embossing is designed using the font I mentioned above

So here are the pictures

journal2_1.jpg

journal2_2.jpg

journal2_3.jpg

journal2_4.jpg

journal2_5.jpg

A friend really liked this so I made one for his birthday. Problem was he could not decide if he wanted the Celtic knotwork or a Ying and Yang, so we compromised ;)

journal3_1.jpg

journal3_2.jpg

journal3_3.jpg

Edited by MagiKelly

I just got done reading your tutorial on the other forum. Thanks for posting that! I really like the design of your journal covers. The pen holder is a nice touch along with a very classy looking snap closure. I think I'm going to make one of these for my own personal use based on your design if you don't mind? Nice work on this too! I really like this.