Willie0

Newbie Question About Using The Flesh Side Out

Hello,

I am new to leather and leather handbag fabrication, but not fabric. I bought a "grab bag" of large leather pieces, figuring I'd find a use for them. They are lightweight, and rather shiny and flamboyantly colored on the finished side. I'm a country girl and would really prefer using the back sides facing out, which look more like suede (a little rough) with much more muted colors. Would this be considered horrible?

Thank you for reading,

Ugh, Flesh side out. Not sure how to go back and fix the spelling!

Edit: Fixed the title for you.

Edited by northmount
Fixed title

Good morning Willie0, and welcome to the forum!

I think it would be perfectly fine to use the flesh sides out if that is the look you prefer. Suede is just leather with the grain removed. It can be a pain to keep clean and I'm not sure how you would seal it to protect it, but it certainly can be done.

Bob

OK, thanks, good to know!

Hello,

I am new to leather and leather handbag fabrication, but not fabric. I bought a "grab bag" of large leather pieces, figuring I'd find a use for them. They are lightweight, and rather shiny and flamboyantly colored on the finished side. I'm a country girl and would really prefer using the back sides facing out, which look more like suede (a little rough) with much more muted colors. Would this be considered horrible?

Thank you for reading,

Ugh, Flesh side out. Not sure how to go back and fix the spelling!

Edit: Fixed the title for you.

Welcome, WillieO, . . .

Hey, . . . what you are talking about is in fact a very smart way to use your leather. Flesh side out in leather lingo is "rough out", . . . and if you have ever seen any of Clint Eastwood's spaghetti westerns, . . . in most of them (if not all) his holster and gun belt were roughout. John Wayne also had a roughout money belt he wore in a western or two.